Bookmark and Share
Loading...

Rabu, 10 Maret 2010

Association for the Study of Religion, Economics, and Culture

ANNUAL MEETING PROGRAM
Nov 1 – 4, 2007


Thursday, November 1

6:00-9:00pm Registration in Regency Ballroom Foyer Galleria B

8:00-10:00 Reception with Cash Bar in Regency Ballroom Foyer Galleria B


Friday, November 2

8:00am-3:00pm Registration Galleria B

9:00am-4:00pm Book Exhibit Buccaneer B and C


FRIDAY MORNING, 8:30-10:00


A-7 Spiritual Capital Esplanade I

Convener/Discussant
Kimon Sargeant, Templeton Foundation, ksargeant@templeton.org

‘Risk, Religion, and Regional Development’
Brian J. Osoba,University of Texas at El Paso, bosoba@utep.edu

‘Spiritual, Human, and Physical Capital: Are They Complementary Factors in Economic Growth?’
Carl R. Gwin, Pepperdine University, Gwin@pepperdine.edu
Wafa Hakim Orman, Baylor University, Wafa_Orman@baylor.edu
Charles M. North, Baylor University, Charles_North@baylor.edu

‘Religion and Economic Development: Evidence from the Early Twentieth Century’
Robert Subrick, James Madison University, jsubrick@gmu.edu


A-8 New Methods for the Study of Religious Belief,
Behavior, and Institutions Esplanade II

Convener/Discussant:
Chris Bader, Baylor University, Christopher_Bader@baylor.edu

‘Religion in Virtual Worlds’
William Sims Bainbridge, National Science Foundation, wsbainbridge@yahoo.com

‘Reducing Religious Extremism: Necessary Conditions and Countervailing Policy’
Michael Makowsky, George Mason University, mmakowsk@gmu.edu

‘Strategic Congregational Management’
Hernan Bejarano, Penn State University, hbejainpenn@gmail.com



A-9 Student Research #1 Esplanade III
Convener/Discussant:
Robert Stonebraker, Winthrop University, stonebrakerr@winthrop.edu
‘Did Religion Have Anything to Do with Success and Failure in Post-Communist Transition?’, Leonid Krasnozhon,George Mason University, lkrasnoz@gmu.edu

‘A Sacrificial Death?’
Jason Wollschleger, University of Washington, jason.etc@gmail.com

‘Overcoming Selfishness: Religion and the Alternatives’
William McBride, George Mason University, wmcbride@gmu.edu



FRIDAY MORNING, 10:15-11:45

B-7 Religion, Values, and Economic Development Esplanade I

Convener/Discussant:
Jared Rubin, Stanford University, jrubin@stanford.edu

‘Values, Beliefs and Development’
Jeffry Jacob, College of St. Benedict, St. John’s University, jjacob@csbsju.edu
Thomas Osang, Southern Methodist University, tosang@mail.smu.edu

‘Corruption, Faith, and Economic Growth’
John E. Stapleford, Eastern University, jstaplef@eastern.edu

‘Efficiency Comparison Between Conventional Development Aid and Missionary Work’
Esa Mangeloja, University of Jyvaskyla, eman@econ.jyu.fi
Tomi Ovaska, Youngstown State University, tpovaska@ysu.edu

‘International Christian Organizations and the Development of Sub-Saharan Africa--A Critical Study’
James A.P. Tiburcio, Universidade de Brasilia, jamestiburcio@yahoo.com


B-8 Demography, Development, and Gender Esplanade II

Convener:
Brian Grim, Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, bgrim@pewforum.org

‘Demographic Change and Religion in Central Asia Following the Transition to a Market Economy’
Kathryn H. Anderson, Vanderbilt University, kathryn.anderson@vanderbilt.edu
Linda Carter, Vanderbilt University, l.carter@vanderbilt.edu

‘Religion, Attitudes Towards Working Mothers and Wives’ Full-time Employment: Evidence for Germany, Italy, and the UK’
Guido Heineck, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, guido.heineck@gmx.net

‘The Church versus the Spirit: The Impact of Christianity on the Treatment of Women in Africa’
Carrie A. Miles, George Mason University, carrie@econzone.com

‘Human Capital, Religion, and Contraceptive Use in Ghana’
Niels-Hugo Blunch, Washington and Lee University, blunchn@wlu.edu



B-9 Book Session: “God from the Machine” Esplanade III

Convener
Laurence R. Iannaccone, George Mason University, larry@econzone.com

Panelists
Chris Bader, Baylor University, Christopher_Bader@baylor.edu
Michael Makowsky, George Mason University, mmakowsk@gmu.edu
Laurence R. Iannaccone, George Mason University, larry@econzone.com

Author/Response
William Sims Banbridge, National Science Foundation, wsbainbridge@yahoo.com


12:00-1:00 New Members Lunch Regency 2


FRIDAY AFTERNOON, 1:15-2:45


C-7 Student Research #2 Esplanade I

Convener/Discussant:
Michael McBride, University of California-Irvine, mcbride@uci.edu

‘Religion, Altruism, and Social Capital’
Nathanael Smith, George Mason University, Nathan_Smith@ksg03.harvard.edu

‘Economics of Philanthropy: Evidence from the Late-Ming and Qing Dynasties’
Yang He, George Mason University, hyang6@gmu.edu

‘Rational Irrationality as a Habit: A Dynamic Approach Towards Belief Formation’
Dalibor Rohac, George Mason University, drohac@gmu.edu

‘ “Yield Not to Temptation”: Religion as Anti-Addictive Social Capital’
SangHo Yoon, George Mason University, syoon@gmu.edu


C-8 Political Economy Esplanade II

Convener/Discussant:
Robert I. Mochrie, Heriot-Watt University, U.K, r.i.mochrie@hw.ac.uk

‘The Political Manipulation of Religion and its Limits:Modeling How Policy Incentives Change the Priorities of Faith-based Service Organizations’
Michael McGinnis, Indiana University, mcginnis@indiana.edu

‘Assessing the Impact of Religion in Foreign Policy: A Religious Economy Analysis’
Carolyn Warner, Arizona State University, cwarner@asu.edu

‘Greedy Sects and the Jealous States: The Political Logic of Religious Regulation’
David Smith, University of Michigan, davidsth@umich.edu

‘Democratic Governance and Organizational Success: The Industrial Organization of Religious Firms’
William R. Clark, University of Michigan, wrclark@umich.edu



C-9 Economics of Religion #1 Esplanade III

Convener/Discussant:
Daniel Hungerman ,Notre Dame, dhungerm@nd.edu

‘Egalitarianism and Economics: American Jewish Families’
Carmel Chiswick, University of Illinois at Chicago, cchis@uic.edu

‘Sects and Violence’
Eli Berman, University of California, San Diego, elib@ucsd.edu

‘Religious Roots of the Print Revolution: Why Some Adopted Printing and Others Waited 300 Years’
Robert Woodberry, University of Texas- Austin, bobwood@mail.la.utexas.edu
"Interest Bans and Institutions: An Economic Theory of Inhibitive Norm Persistence in Islam & Christianity"
Jared Rubin, Stanford University, jrubin@stanford.edu

FRIDAY AFTERNOON, 3:00-4:30


D-6 Religion and Rational Choice # 1 [SSSR/ASREC] Esplanade I
Convener/Discussant:
Brooks B. Hull, University of Michigan-Dearborn, bhull@umd.umich.edu


‘Does Low Religious Market Share Boost Recruitment Efforts?’
Jonathan Hill, University of Notre Dame, jhill3@nd.edu
Daniel V. A. Olson, Purdue University

‘Free riding in religious congregations: Can it be eradicated?’
Sergio Figueroa Sanz, Instituto Tecnologico Autonomo de Mexico, sergiofigueroasanz@yahoo.com

‘The Marketplace of Religion: Reflections on the Rise of the Dge lugs School in Tibet’
Rachel M. McCleary, Harvard University, mccleary@wcfia.harvard.edu
Leonard W.J. van der Kuijp, Harvard University, vanderk@fas.harvard.edu



D-7 Religion and Philanthropy Esplanade II

Convener/Discussant:
Christine Brickman, Catholic University of America, cbrickma@gmu.edu

‘Passing the Collection Plate: An Examination of Weekly Church Offerings’
Paul J. Olson, Briar Cliff University, paul.olson@briarcliff.edu

‘Faith, Hope, and Charity’
Thomas M. Smith, University of Illinois at Chicago, tomsmith@uic.edu

‘Diversity and Crowd Out: A Theory of Cold-Glow Giving’
Daniel Hungerman ,Notre Dame, dhungerm@nd.edu

‘Religion, Exchange, Coexistence and Growth’
Resit Ergener, Bogazici University, resit.ergener@boun.edu.tr



D-8 Religious Conflict, Commitment, and Cohesion: Evolutionary
and Economic Approaches [ASREC] Esplanade III

Convener/Discussant:
Richard Sosis,University of Connecticut, richard.sosis@uconn.edu

‘Ingroups and Outgroups: How Religion has Cohered and Cleaved’
Azim Shariff, University of British Columbia, azim@psych.ubc.ca

‘Psalms for Safety: Magico-Religious Responses to Threats of Terror’
Richard Sosis, University of Connecticut, richard.sosis@uconn.edu

‘Religion and Support for Suicide Attacks’
Ara Norenzayan, University of British Columbia, ara@psych.ubc.ca
Ian Hansen, University of British Columbia, ihansen@psych.ubc.ca
Jeremy Ginges, New School for Social Research,

‘Exploring the Relationship between Religious Commitment and Cooperation: Findings from Northeastern Brazil’
Montserrat Soler, Rutgers University, carmin@eden.rutgers.edu


5:30-6:30 H. Paul Douglass Lecture Regency Ballroom (5-7)

"The Four M's of Religion: Magic, Membership, Morality, and Mysticism”
Randall Collins, Dorothy Swaine Thomas Professor in Sociology, University of Pennsylvania.

6:30-7:30 Reception with Cash Bar Galleria B


ASREC Friday Evening Social
9:00-11:30 PM
Harborview Room



SATURDAY, November 3
Saturday Morning, 8:30-10:00


E-7 Religion and Rational Choice # 2 [SSSR/ASREC] Esplanade I


Convener/Discussant:
Richard Sosis,University of Connecticut, richard.sosis@uconn.edu

‘Greek Blood Sacrifice as Economic Regulation’
John Rundin, University of California - Davis, jsrundin@ucdavis.edu

‘Religious Cognition, Prisoner’s Dilemmas and The Stag Hunt’
Joseph Bulbulia,Victoria University of Wellington, joseph.bulbulia@vuw.ac.nz

‘Ambiguity and Religious Markets’
Zsolt Becsi, Southern Illinois University, becsi@siu.edu

‘Religion Trumps Race in Implicit Prejudice’
Azim Shariff, University of British Columbia, azim@psych.ubc.ca


E-8 Religious Firms and Markets Esplanade II

Convener/Discussant:
Mark Regnerus, University of Texas, regnerus@prc.utexas.edu

‘Market Size, Market Structure, and Competition: Local Religious Markets in Nineteenth Century Scotland’
Robert I. Mochrie, Heriot-Watt University, r.I.mochrie@hw.ac.uk
John W. Sawkins, Heriot-Watt University,
Alexander U. Naumov, Heriot-Watt University

‘Free Riding, Market Structure, and Member Commitment in South Carolina Churches’
Brooks B. Hull,University of Michigan-Dearborn, bhull@umd.umich.edu
Jody Lipford, Presbyterian College, jlipford@mail.presby.edu

‘A Model of Religious Investment to Explain the Success of “Megachurches”’
Marc von der Ruhr, St. Norbert College, marc.von-der-ruhr@snc.edu
Joseph P. Daniels, Marquette University, joseph.daniels@marquette.edu


E-9 Religion, History, and Economic Development Esplanade III

Convener/Discussant:
Carolyn Warner, Arizona State University, cwarner@asu.edu

‘How the Medieval Church Fostered Cooperation, Built Institutions, and Contributed to the Economic Ascent of Western Europe’
Charles North, Baylor University, charles_North@baylor.edu
Carl Gwin, Pepperdine University, carl.gwin@pepperdine.edu

‘The Afterlife as a Disciplinary Device: On Purgatory and the Credibility of Postmortem Prayers in Chantries’
Michael McBride, University of California-Irvine, mcbride@uci.edu
Gary Richardson, George Mason University, garyr@uci.edu

‘Does economic development cause a decline in religiosity? Explaining the separation between Church and State in France in 1905’
Raphael Franck, Bar-Ilan University, franckr@mail.biu.ac.il

‘Cultural Transformations and “Islamic Capitalism” in Malaysia from 1971 to the Present’
Ermin Sinanovic, United States Naval Academy, sinanovi@usna.edu




SATURDAY MORNING, 10:15-11:45


F-7 Book Session: “Who Really Cares? America’s Charity Divide:
Who Gives, Who Doesn’t, and Why It Matters” [ASREC] Esplanade I

Convener
David Mustard, University of Georgia, mustard@terry.uga.edu

Panelists
Thomas M. Smith, University of Illinois at Chicago, tomsmith@uic.edu

Daniel Hungerman, Univ. of Notre Dame, dhungerm@nd.edu

Anthony Gill, University of Washington, tgill@u.washington.edu

David Mustard, University of Georgia, mustard@terry.uga.edu


F-8 Islamic Economics and the Economics of Islam Esplanade II

Convener/Discussant:
Robert Woodberry, University of Texas- Austin, bobwood@mail.la.utexas.edu

‘Human capital development in social capital matrix perspective: A case study of Pakistan in emerging global market’
Syed Akhter Hussain Shah, Pakistan Institute of Developmental Economics, akhtar_hshah@yahoo.com
Eatzas Ahmed Quaid-I-Azam, University Islamabad Pakistan,
Muslehud Din, Pakistan Institute of Developmental Economics,

‘How ‘Islamic’ are Islamic Banks?’
Feisal Khan, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, khan@hws.edu

‘Value Change and Sustainable Moderation of Political Islam: Theory and Evidence from Turkey’
Murat Somer, Koç University, Istanbul, musomer@ku.edu.tr

‘The Beloved Enemy’
Malda Al-Sarayji, George Mason University, cidrah1@yahoo.com



F-9 ERel-Ed: Teaching Students the Economics of Religion Esplanade III

Convener:
Kristin Terkun, Hampden-Sydney College, kterkun@hsc.edu

‘ERel for graduate students’
Gary Richardson, George Mason University, garyr@uci.edu

‘Teaching an large undergraduate ERel class’
Michael McBride,University of California-Irvine, mcbride@uci.edu

‘ERel as a topic for undergraduate microeconomics courses’
Robert Stonebraker, Winthrop University, stonebrakerr@winthrop.edu

‘ERel as an interdisciplinary field of study for undergraduate students’
Carmel Chiswick, University of Illinois at Chicago, cchis@uic.edu



12:00-1:00 PM
ASREC ‘TANSTAAFL’ Luncheon
Regency 2



SATURDAY AFTERNOON 1:15-2:45


G-7 Religion and Economy [SSSR/ASREC] Esplanade I

Convener/Discussant
Mark Chaves, Duke University, mac58@soc.duke.edu

‘Faith-Based Organizations and Federal Dollars: More God for your Buck?’
Molly A. Martinez, Yale University, molly.martinez@yale.edu

‘Casino Development – Sin or Savior? Situating Economic Behavior in Religious Context’
Tracey L. Farrigan, PhD, Economic Research Service, US Dept. of Agriculture, tfarrigan@ers.usda.gov

‘Max Weber and Islam: The Paradox of Economic Development in Islamic Societies’
Ayman Reda, Grand Valley State University, redaa@gvsu.edu

‘(Mis)marketing policy: How megachurch growth has changed American politics’
Mara Einstein, Queens College, CUNY, mara.einstein@qc.cuny.edu


G-8 The Religious Factor in Contemporary American Political Conflict [SSSR/ASREC] Esplanade II

Convener/Discussant:
Laura Olson,Clemson University, laurao@clemson.edu

‘A ‘Sophisticated’ Prejudice: Anti-Christian Fundamentalism in Contemporary America’
Louis Bolce, Baruch College, Louis_Bolce@baruch.cuny.edu
Gerald De Maio, Baruch College, Gerald_Demaio@baruch.cuny.edu

‘The Changing Face of Politicized Anti-Catholicism’
J. Matthew Wilson, Southern Methodist University, jmwilson@smu.edu

‘Religion in Congress Revisited’
James L. Guth, Furman University, jim.guth@furman.edu

‘Religion, Liberalism and Incommensurable Norms’
Robert T. Miller, Villanova University School of Law, miller@law.villanova.edu



G-9 International Patterns of Religious Affiliation and Participation Esplanade III

Convener/Discussant:
Rachel M. McCleary, Harvard University, mccleary@wcfia.harvard.edu

‘A Terrible Beauty is Born: Exploring the Relationship Between Changing Religious Attributes and Emerging Social Attitudes in Europe’
Michael J. Breen, University of Limerick, michael.breen@mic.ul.ie

‘Changing Religious Identification in Australia and New Zealand’
Sarah King-Hele, University of Manchester, Sarah.King-Hele@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk
David Voas, University of Manchester, voas@man.ac.uk

‘Triangulating the World’s Most Dynamic Religious Market: Africa’
Brian J. Grim, Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life, bgrim@pewforum.org



SATURDAY AFTERNOON, 3:00-4:30


ASREC Presidential Address
Esplanade I, II, III

Convener/Introduction
Anthony Gill, University of Washington, tgill@u.washington.edu

Presidential Address
‘Faithful Measures: Toward Improving Religion Metrics’
Roger Finke, Penn State University, rfinke@psu.edu


5:30-6:30 SSSR Presidential Plenary Regency Ballroom (5-7)
R. Stephen Warner, President, Society for the Scientific Study of Religion

6:30-7:15 Reception and Cash Bar Galleria B

7:30-9:00 SSSR Banquet and Award Ceremony Regency Ballroom (1)


ASREC Saturday Evening Social
9:00-11:30 PM
Harborview Room



SUNDAY MORNING, November 4


Sunday Morning, 8:30-10:00

I-7 Religion and Identity Esplanade I

Convener/Discussant:
Raphael Franck, Bar-Ilan University, franckr@mail.biu.ac.il

‘Hostile Territory: High-tension Religion and the Jewish Peddler’
Colleen E.H. Berndt, San Hose State University, colleen.berndt@sjsu.edu

‘Identity, Collective Beliefs, and the Allocation of Resources’
Thomas D. Jeitschko, Michigan State University, jeitschk@msu.edu
Seamus O’Connell, Maynooth College, seamus.g.oconnell@may.ie
Rowena A. Pecchenino, Michigan State University, rowenap@msu.edu

‘Rational Choice Meets School Choice in the Jewish Community: The Case of Jewish Day Schools’
Bruce A. Phillips, Hebrew Union College, bphillips@huc.edu

‘Private School Choice: The Effects of Religious Affiliation and Participation’
Danny Cohen-Zada, Ben-Gurion University, danoran@bgu.ac.il
William Sander, DePaul University, wsander@depaul.edu



I-8 Economics of Religion #2 Esplanade II

Convener/Discussant:
Chuck Zech, Villanova University, charles.zech@villanova.edu

‘Religion in China Under Communism: A Political Economic Approach’
Fenggang Yang, Purdue University, fyang@purdue.edu

‘Human Capital Accumulation and the Inter-Denominational Mobility of American Jews’
Christine Brickman, Catholic University of America, cbrickma@gmu.edu

‘Public Reason as a Discursive System’
Fred Frohock,University of Miami, ffrohock@maxwell.syr.edu




SUNDAY MORNING, 10:15-11:45


J-9 Empirical Studies of Religious Participation Esplanade I

Convener/Discussant:
Eli Berman, University of California, San Diego, elib@ucsd.edu

‘Moving on Over: Geographic Mobility as a Predictor of Switching and Attendance Frequency in American Religion’
Christopher Born, Catholic University of America, 29born@cua.edu

‘Local Culture and the Maintenance and Transmission of Religious Practice’
David Voas, University of Manchester, voas@manchester.ac.uk
Daniel V.A. Olson, Purdue University, dolson@purdue.edu

‘Measuring Religious Commitment and Secularization Through Time-Use Data’
Ariela Keysar, Trinity College, ariela.keysar@trincoll.edu
Benjamin Beit-Hallahmi, University of Haifa, benny@psy.haifa.ac.il
Barry Kosmin, Trinity College, isssc@trincoll.edu

‘Praying for a Recession: The Business Cycle and Protestant Church Growth in the United States’
David Beckworth, Texas State University, db52@txstate.edu


J-10 Empirical Studies of Religious Capital Esplanade II
Convener/Discussant:
Charles M. North, Baylor University, Charles_North@baylor.edu

‘Subjective and objetive measures of religiosity and fertility choices’
Alicia Adsera, Princeton University, adsera@Princeton.edu

‘Looking Backward: Reconstructing Religious History with Retrospective Data’
Laurence Iannaccone, George Mason University, larry@econzone.com

‘The Life and Death Implications of Subsidies for Spiritual Capital’
Robert Subrick, James Madison University, jsubrick@gmu.edu



Meeting Adjourns at 11:45 AM

Tidak ada komentar:

Poskan Komentar

Download Lagu Gratis, MP3 Gratis